SCC personnel


Phoebe Voigts, Artistic Director

Phoebe Voigts, the founding Artistic Director of the Saskatoon Children’s Choir, is an accomplished choral clinician, instructor, and conductor of children’s choirs. Appearing on choral stages across Canada, as well as in Europe, Asia, the United States and South Africa, the Saskatoon Children’s Choir is recognized internationally for their commitment to high artistic standards, humanitarian initiatives and creative performance practices. Ms. Voigts received her initial training from the University of Regina Luther College and the University of Saskatchewan, pursuing further studies at the University of Alberta, the University of Manitoba and the Royal College of Church Music in Croydon, England. Well respected within Canada and internationally, Ms. Voigts was included in Herstory, a Calendar featuring inspiring Canadian women, and inNed Powers’ 2011 book, Here’s to My Heros. She is the recipient of the YWCA Women of Distinction in Arts Award, the Saskatchewan Music Educators Award for Outstanding Achievement, the Saskatchewan Choral Federation Pro Musica Award, and the Rotary Golden Wheel Award.  She was chosen as the 2011 Children’s Champion of the Child and Youth Friendly Saskatoon.  In November 2016, she has been honoured by the Saskatchewan Music Educators Association with the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award.

Photo by Rosanna Parry Photography

Michelle Aalders, Principal Accompanist

Michelle Aalders has been the principal accompanist with the Saskatoon Children’s Choir since 2002. She has travelled and performed internationally with the choir in China, Europe, South Africa, the British Isles, and most recently, Germany. She can be heard performing on their CDs “Cantus Populi” and “On Prairie Wings”. Michelle is a native of Nova Scotia and received her Master of Music Degree in Piano Pedagogy and Performance from Westminster Choir College in Princeton, New Jersey and her Bachelor of Music and Music Education Degrees from Acadia University, studying under Frances Clark, Louise Goss, Phyllis Lehrer, Dalton Baldwin and Janice Stephens. Michelle was a sessional professor at the University of Lethbridge and the Lethbridge Conservatory of Music, an accompanist for the Cantabile Choirs of Kingston, Ontario under the direction of Dr. Mark Sirett, and also accompanist for the Cardston Girls Choir. Michelle is the music director and organist at Third Avenue United Church, where she also co-ordinates the “Thursdays at Third Avenue” noon-hour concert series. She is an active member of the SRMTA and enjoys a thriving piano studio, as well as her collaborative work with many local musicians and organizations, including the SSO.

Kerry Agnew, Preparatory Accompanist

Kerry Agnew received her B.Mus and B.Ed from the University of Saskatchewan, as well as a Diploma from the Franz Schubert Institute in Austria. As a passionate opera répétiteur, Ms. Agnew has had opportunities to partake in numerous productions including Edmonton’s NUOVA Vocal Arts Festival (performing Romeo et Juliette (Gounod), La Boheme (Puccini), and Il barbiere di Siviglia (Rossini), Winnipeg’s Contemporary Opera Lab (premiering newly commissioned Canadian Operas), Saskatoon’s Little Opera On the Prairie (Isis and the Seven Scorpions (Burry), La Voix Humaine (Poulenc), as well as work with the Saskatoon Opera ChorusMs. Agnew currently performs with three Saskatoon Choirs; the University of Saskatchewan University Chorus, the Saskatoon Children’s Choir, and the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra Chorus. In addition to instructing online music courses at the University of Saskatchewan, Ms. Agnew thrives on performing in chamber music settings with soloists and choirs around Saskatchewan.

General Manager Dr. Rita McLeod
Administrative Manager Gaileen Willick
Executive Director, SMEA Val Kuemper
Leadership Assistants Gabrielle Cousyn, Veronica Maestrocampo, Brooklyn Mattila, Brynja Bayda, Emma Fish, Olivia Scrimshaw, Teagan Fish, Molly Moors, Meeka Fast, Quinn Smith
Board of Directors Vivian Dyck, Gary Gullickson, Ann Mueller and Wendell Owen
Graphic Artist Jeff Spokes
Music Librarian Kate Gibbings
Program Design Shelly Balbar
Webmaster Stephen Levy
Choir Seamstresses Heather Brigidear and Allison Lapointe Lacelle
Choir Archives Deanna Koroluk